2017 IRONMAN winter sprint
Light division - Results


Results, Jan. 18, 2017 

GoPro Motorplex’s IRONMAN Winter Sprint format featured 18 drivers competing in a 2-lap qualifying session, followed by a 10-lap Sprint race and then a 40-minute individual Endurance race with two mandatory kart swaps. Light Division drivers must weigh or weigh-up to make the 175 lb. weight limit to even the playing field.

Competitors in tonight’s IRONMAN Winter Sprint Light Division event didn’t have to battle the cold temperatures, rain or snow as they did last year. In fact, they had the exact opposite; clear skies and 60+ degrees. However, tonight’s SOLD OUT field of Light Division drivers still fought the same grueling, 40-minute endurance race to determine who would take the IRONMAN title.

The key to defeating the challenging IRONMAN Winter Sprint format is certainly to outlast, outwill and outdrive the competition. This week, Phillip Eastmead rose to the top to win our first race event of the 2017 racing season.

David Levine took the victory in the 10-lap Sprint Race after an intense battle for the position among the top-five drivers. Dustin Bullock scored the pole in qualifying and led the majority of the race before being overtaken by Levine and Jake Mueller. Mueller finished in second, forcing Bullock to settle for third place and seek redemption in the 40-minute Enduro up next.

Competitors began the 40-minute enduro finale with a standing start. It was Phillip Eastmead who used pit strategy and overall speed to take the win in the 40-minute Enduro, winning by nearly eight seconds over Kyle Kercher in second and JJ Haley in third.

However, the overall IRONMAN winner is determined through combined points of both races, which still gave the overall win to Eastmead, followed by Kercher in second and Haley in third.

Congrats to all of our diehard competitors for completing the IRONMAN!

Sprint Race (10 Laps) - Results
Enduro Race (40 Minutes) - Results
Combined Total  - Final Results