2017 IRONMAN winter sprint
Heavy division - Results


Results, Jan. 25, 2017 


GoPro Motorplex’s IRONMAN Winter Sprint format featured 18 drivers competing in a 2-lap qualifying session, followed by a 10-lap Sprint race and then a 40-minute individual Endurance race with two mandatory kart swaps. Heavy Division drivers must weigh or weigh-up to make the 200 lb. weight limit to even the playing field.

Competitors in tonight’s IRONMAN Winter Sprint Heavy Division event didn’t have to battle the cold temperatures, rain or snow as in previous years. In fact, they had the exact opposite; clear skies and nearly 70 degrees. However, tonight’s SOLD OUT field of Heavy Division drivers still fought the same grueling, 40-minute endurance race to determine who would take the IRONMAN title.
The key to defeating the challenging IRONMAN Winter Sprint format is certainly to outlast, outwill and outdrive the competition. This week, Phillip Eastmead rose to the top to take the 2017 Heavy Division IRONMAN title.

Zack Strowd took the victory in the 10-lap Sprint Race, but only by 0.264 seconds over his brother, James Strowd. Rounding out the top three was last week’s IRONMAN Light Division winner, Phillip Eastmead.

The question became, would Eastmead’s proven winning race strategy secure him another IRONMAN following the 40-minute Enduro or would the Strowd brothers team up to make their own race-winning strategy?

Competitors began the last leg of the IRONMAN, the 40-minute Enduro, with a standing start. The Strowd brothers took the green and were off to a solid start, running first and second at the line on lap one. However, by just lap two and less than 5 minutes into the Enduro, Eastmead had muscled his way into the top position. Eastmead was on a mission, improving his lead over the field by just over two seconds by the 15-minute mark.

As competitors cycled through their mandatory two pit stops, it was still Phillip Eastmead out front. Eastmead continued his dominating stride to take the win in the 40-minute Enduro, winning by 23 seconds over John Callanan in second and Don Winchester in third.

However, the overall IRONMAN winner is determined through combined points of both races. Even after points calculations, the overall win and IRONMAN Heavy Division title went to Eastmead, making him two-for-two for IRONMAN titles. Callanan finished in second and James Strowd finished third.

Congrats to all of our diehard competitors for completing the IRONMAN!

Sprint Race (10 Laps) - Results
Enduro Race (40 Minutes) - Results
Combined Total  - Final Results