2016 IRONMAN winter sprint
heavy division - Results


New for 2016, the IRONMAN Winter Sprint format consists of a 2-lap qualifying session, followed by a 10-lap race and then a 40-minute race with two mandatory kart swaps.

Tonight’s IRONMAN Winter Sprint Heavy Division event lacked the sub-freezing temperatures and snow flurries that the Light Division competitors had to endure last Wednesday. However, tonight’s SOLD OUT field of Heavy Division drivers still fought the same grueling, 40-minute endurance race to determine who would take the IRONMAN title.

The key to defeating our new IRONMAN Winter Sprint format is certainly to outlast, out-will and out-drive the competition. This week, Phillip Eastmead rose to the top to win our inaugural IRONMAN Winter Sprint Heavy Division event.

Rental League veteran, Zachary Schucker won the 10-lap Sprint race after a close battle with Brody Wilhelm. Wilhelm attempted a last-lap pass on Schucker in Turn 9, but wasn’t able to hold him off. Wilhelm had to settle for second and Rob Ruska rounded out the top-three.

However, it was Eastmead who was on a consistent charge to take the race win in the 40-minute Enduro. Eastmead is a GoPro Motorplex regular with over 350 rental races under his belt, so 40 minutes was an easy pace for him. Behind Eastmead, the battle for second came down to just 0.468 seconds with Rob Ruska taking second and Zack Strowd third.

The overall IRONMAN winner is determined through combined points of the Sprint and Enduro race, giving Phillip Eastmead the overall win followed by Ruska in second and Strowd in third.

Congrats and “Thank You!” to all of our diehard competitors for completing the IRONMAN! 

GoPro Photo Gallery>>

Results, Jan. 27, 2016 

Race One (10 Laps) - Results
Race Two (40 minutes) - Results
Combined Total  - Final Results
Detailed Results>>