Race Recap: Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire Round 8, Sept. 3

A record-high total of 113 drivers entered Round Eight of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire today. Round Eight marked the first of two Rounds as part of a double-header Labor Day race weekend. In addition, drivers got their first-ever chance to race under the lights during a Karting Challenge club race.

Congrats to all Round Eight winners: Cade Frazier (Briggs LO206 Junior), Mateo Rubio-Luengo (IAME Mini Swift), Aiden Baker Crouse (Briggs LO206 Cadet), Emory Lyda (Yamaha Junior), Aiden Baker Crouse (IAME Swift), Nick Tucker (IAME Heavy), Luke Wallace (IAME Junior), Nick Tucker (Briggs LO206 Senior), Doug Rink (Briggs LO206 Heavy), Dalton Dow (IAME Senior).

Briggs LO206 Cadet Division Sponsored by EnforcerOne powered by FireAde:
The intensity and excitement could be felt as the Briggs LO206 Cadet drivers hit the track as the first to division to race under the lights for their final. Turning his perfect day into a perfect night, Aiden Baker Crouse won both Heat Races earlier in the day and led flag-to-flag to win the Final. Bree Miller fought off a last-lap attempt from Connor Zilisch to take home second and Zilisch settled for third. 

Briggs LO206 Junior Division Sponsored by Race City Mobile Detailing:
In the Briggs LO206 Junior division 10-lap Final, Cade Frazier showed the way from the top spot, followed by Alex Keadle and Seth Gentry. However, just before halfway, Frazier and Keadle battled hard through the Hoosier Hairpin. Frazier gave Keadle the lead for just a mere few corners before taking the top position back in Turn Eleven. Frazier took home the Final win, while Keadle held off Gentry in a drag race to the line for second. Gentry finished in third.

IAME Mini Swift Division Sponsored by CNC Performance Engineering:
In the IAME Mini Swift 10-lap final, Sofia D’Arrigo led a six-kart group of frontrunners. By halfway, D’Arrigo was doing everything she could to pull away from the field, establishing a three-kart lead over second place of Sam Corry. However, her lead was short-lived as Corry stole the top spot away from her in Turn Four. With three laps to go, spectators jumped up and down along the fenceline as D’Arrigo made the pass back for the top spot on Corry in Turn Four. D’Arrigo bobbled to give the lead back to Corry just before the final lap, shuffling her back to fourth. With an all-out, wild last lap, Mateo Rubio-Luengo powered his way to the front for the win, followed by Corry in second and Caleb Gafrarar in third.


IAME Swift Division Sponsored by HMS Motorsport:
A total of 19 young drivers took the green flag for the IAME Swift division’s 10-lap final race. Aiden Baker Crouse and Devin Gomez gapped the rest of the field, running bumper-to-bumper and creating a two-kart battle for the top spot. With two laps to go, Gomez suffered a heartbreaking end to his night with a mechanical problem, surrendering second position to Gray Leadbetter. Crouse strolled on to take the win, followed by Leadbetter and Caleb Bacon.

IAME Junior Division:
In the IAME Junior Division 12-lap final, a three-kart group with Luke Wallace, Pauly Massimino and Sam Tisdale broke away from the field. By halfway, Wallace was looking back over his shoulder from the top spot with Massimino running right on his bumper and turning the fastest laps of the race. However, when Massimino pulled off track with an apparent mechanical failure, it allowed Wallace a huge gap over the field with no close competition. Wallace scored his first-ever victory in the division in dominating fashion with nearly a two-second margin of victory. Rounding out the podium was Brooke Nachtmann in second and Lance Fenderson in third. 


Yamaha Junior Division:
In the Yamaha Junior final, Taylor Stanford paced the field in the top position. However, by lap four, Emory Lyda overtook Stanford for the lead in the Hoosier Hairpin. Stanford quickly stole the lead back, but Lyda wasn’t giving up, continuing to chase Stanford and swapping for the top spot on the very next lap. Lyda went on to score the win, followed by Stanford in second and Chase Carey in third.


Briggs LO206 Senior Division Sponsored by Todd Shockman RV Sales:
The Briggs LO206 Senior 12-lap final featured a 20-kart field of drivers. Early on, Hank Hefner and Nick Tucker teamed up as drafting partners to break away from the field. However, they weren’t partners for long, swapping for the top spot while improving their lead to nearly two seconds over the rest of the field. By halfway, Tucker had advanced his lead over Hefner to just over two kart lengths. Tucked in behind Tucker’s draft, Hefner was able to suck up to Tucker’s bumper and run the fastest laps of the race. Bumper-to-bumper on the final lap, Tucker held off Hefner to take the win, followed by Hefner in second and Dan Koehler in third.


Briggs LO206 Heavy Division:
In our newly-formed Briggs LO206 Heavy Division (395 lbs.), Doug Rink scored the win, followed by Jerry Turner in second and Scott Sawyer in third.

IAME Heavy Division Sponsored by Stitch 98:
In the IAME Heavy Division, the field of nine competitors were all chasing Nick Tucker’s bumper as he skyrocketed to a staggering two-second lead over second position of Todd Shambo after just three laps. However, in an absolute nail-biter, Todd Shambo surged to trim down Tucker’s lead to just four kart lengths as the white flag flew. Tucker potentially suffered from exhaustion after running two divisions today. Shambo reeled in Tucker all the way to close onto Tucker’s bumper. However, on the final turn, Shambo may have given it a little too much and spun, allowing Tucker to take the win, followed by Steve Frank in second and John Wehrheim in third. 

IAME Senior Division Sponsored by MPI:
In the IAME Senior division headline event under the lights, 17 competitors took the green flag. After just one lap, Nick Johnston charged to the point on the field, trailed closely by a seven-kart train of frontrunners. However, Dalton Dow overtook Johnston in Turn Four after just five laps. Johnston dropped in behind Dow to chase for the lead from the second position. By halfway, the seven-kart train of leaders was still nose-to-tail, forced to be absolutely flawless. Dalton Dow went unchallenged for the final circuit around to win the final. Johnston was able to maneuver around Bovim for the second position on the final lap entering Turn One. Bovim scored the second position and Johnston settled for the final spot on the podium. 

Round 8 Results, Standings>>

GoPro Photo Gallery>>

For more information on the Karting Challenge club series, CLICK HERE>>