Race Recap: Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire Round 6, July 2

There was certainly fireworks on track today with a total 101 competitors entered for Round Six of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire, marking halfway in the 12-round championship club series. After completing the halfway round in the series today, drivers will look to shift their mindsets and set their sights on the last half of their run for a championship.

Congrats to all Round Six winners: Alex Keadle (Briggs LO206 Junior), Tyler Wettengel (IAME Mini Swift), Aiden Baker Crouse (Briggs LO206 Cadet), Emory Lyda (Yamaha Junior), Aiden Baker Crouse (IAME Swift), Nick Tucker (IAME Heavy), Lance Fenderson (IAME Junior), Dan Koehler (Briggs LO206 Senior), Lars Schmidt (Briggs LO206 Heavy), Blake Hunt (IAME Senior), Ayden Young (Kid Kart).

Briggs LO206 Cadet Division Sponsored by EnforcerOne powered by FireAde:
In the Briggs LO206 Cadet Division 10-lap final, division point leader, Aiden Baker Crouse was on a rail again today, winning the pole in qualifying, the pre-final and the final. Crouse dominated, leading flag-to-flag to score the win over Bree Miller in second and Danny Dyszelski in third.


Yamaha Junior Division:
In the Yamaha Junior 12-lap final, Emory Lyda shot off to an early lead over the field. Lyda just continued to settle into his stride to win the final by nearly three seconds over Taylor Stanford in second and Brian Collins in third. 

IAME Swift Division Sponsored by HMS Motorsport:
A total of 17 young drivers took the green flag for the division’s 12-lap final race. Leading the points championship entering Round 6 today, Aiden Baker Crouse took control of the top spot early on in the race with Devin Gomez and Leland Honeyman hot on his heels. As the laps dwindled, Crouse just improved his pace, eventually winning by just over a second on Honeyman in second place and Gomez in third.  


IAME Heavy Division Sponsored by Stitch 98:
In the IAME Heavy Division 12-lap final, Nick Tucker continued his dominating streak in the division, checking out to a more than five-second lead over the field after just three laps. In his rearview, Danny Breuer worked his way up to the second position. Tucker scored the win, followed by Breuer in second and Todd Shambo rounded out the podium.  


IAME Junior Division:
In the IAME Junior Division 12-lap final, Lance Fenderson strolled to what looked like an easy final win to complete his perfect day after winning the pole in qualifying and the pre-final. Drew Lindley rode comfortably in second position for the majority of the race while the battle for third was hard fought behind him. As the competitors cleared halfway, it was Luke Wallace who rose to take control of the third position. With two laps to go, Wallace was quickly reeling Lindley in for the second position, but ran out of laps before he could completely close onto Lindley’s bumper. Fenderson scored the win, followed by Lindley and Wallace settled for third.


Briggs LO206 Senior Division Sponsored by Todd Shockman RV Sales:
The Briggs LO206 Senior final featured a close battle between Brandon Jarsocrak and Nick Tucker. The two drivers were hooked up bumper-to-bumper lap after lap. Drafting together as well, Dan Koehler and Billy Duff worked together to catch the top-two drivers. However, Duff dropped off leaving Koehler to chase down the leaders by himself. Without a drafting partner, Koehler struggled to keep up as Jarsocrak and Tucker pulled away. As the white flag flew, the pressure was on for Jarsocrak to maintain the top spot over Tucker. However, exiting Turn Four, Tucker made his move around Jarsocrak. Jarsocrak returned the favor in the Hoosier Hairpin to take the lead back. Tucker then took the lead in Turn Nine only for Jarsocrak to make contact with Tucker on the final turn sending Tucker into the barriers. Jarsocrak crossed the line first, but was penalized, giving Koehler the win, followed by Duff in second and Phillip Eastmead in third.  

Briggs LO206 Heavy Division:
In our newly-formed Briggs LO206 Heavy Division (395 lbs.), Lars Schmidt scored the win.

IAME Senior Division Sponsored by MPI:
In the IAME Senior division 18-kart field, Blake Hunt was certainly the driver to beat, winning the pole in qualifying and the pre-final and charging to the lead early on in the final race. As the laps wound down, Hunt continued to set a blistering pace, improving his gap over second place of Michael Bovim to over three seconds. Hunt scored the win, followed by Bovim in second and Austin Schulz in third.


IAME Mini Swift Division Sponsored by CNC Performance Engineering:
In the IAME Mini Swift 10-lap final, Sam Corry charged to the lead for the opening of the race. Corry was chased closely by pole and pre-final winner, Paige Crawford. Just before halfway, Corry made a small error in Turn Four, washing him high up the track and allowing Crawford and Tyler Wettengel to slip by. Crawford scored the win. However, following post-race tech inspection, Crawford was disqualified, giving Wettengel the win, Corry second place and Danny Dyszelski third.

Briggs LO206 Junior Division Sponsored by Race City Mobile Detailing:
The Briggs LO206 Junior division 10-lap Final featured a close race between Alex Keadle and Seth Gentry. Keadle was able to score the win by just 0.202 seconds over Gentry in second. Jadyn Daniels rounded out the podium. As the point leader entering Round 6, Keadle will continue to lead with today’s win as he looks to score a championship in the division.


Kid Kart Division:
In the Kid Kart Division, Ayden Young, got some valuable laps of experience and was able to take home the trophy for the win as well.


Round 6 Results>> 

GoPro Photo Gallery>> 


The Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire will return for Round 7 on Saturday, Aug. 6. Spectator admission is just $5 and children under age five are free. Competitors can save $15 by pre-registering on MotorsportReg.com.

For more information on the Karting Challenge club series, CLICK HERE>>