Race Recap: Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire Round 2, March 26

Beautiful spring weather and mostly sunny skies with a brief rain shower gave way to Round Two of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire series today. It was a full day of action-packed racing with close battles between a total of 103 competitors within our 11 divisions.

Congrats to all Round Two winners: Sam Corry (IAME Mini Swift), Aiden Baker Crouse (Briggs LO206 Cadet), Emory Lyda (Yamaha Junior), Keith Carlson (Yamaha Senior), Devin Gomez (IAME Swift), Laurentiu Mardan (IAME Heavy), Lance Fenderson (IAME Junior), Billy Duff (Briggs LO206 Senior), Dusty Davis (IAME Senior), Jett Miller (Kid Kart).

IAME Mini Swift Division:
In the IAME Mini Swift Division 12-lap final, it was pre-final winner, Danny Dyszelski, who paced the field, chased closely by Sam Corry in second place. With just four laps in the books, Corry was already knocking on Dyszelski’s door letting him know he was there. In the very next lap, Corry made his move on Dyszelski. In addition, Mateo Rubio-Luengo followed along to take second position from Dyszelski as well. Unfortunately, contact in Turn 11 sent Rubio-Luengo into the barrier, allowing Corry and Dyszelski to control the top-two spots. The two drivers were side-by-side for the lead as the white flag flew. In an absolute drag race to the line, Corry took the win by just 0.026-seconds over Dyszelski. Sofia D’Arrigo rounded out the top-three.


Briggs LO206 Junior Division Sponsored by Race City Mobile Detailing:
The Briggs LO206 division started off with a bang as the leaders, including pre-final winner, Seth Gentry, were collected in a Turn 8 scuffle. This allowed Ian Habiuk to check out unchallenged for the lead. However, on Lap 3, Habiuk suffered some sort of mechanical issue making him check up and let Jadyn Daniels skate into the lead. She had her work cut out for her when Habiuk and Gentry teamed up to draft and chase her down. With six laps to go, Daniels surrendered the lead to hard-charger, Gentry and Habiuk took control of second position. Gentry held off a tough challenge from Habiuk to take the win. Habiuk suffered an on-track penalty, giving second place to Alex Keadle and third to Jadyn Daniels.

Briggs LO206 Cadet Division:
In the Briggs LO206 Cadet Division 12-lap final, it was Alex Delemo who challenged Aiden Baker Crouse’s perfect day. Crouse qualified on the pole and won the pre-final earlier in the afternoon. However, by Lap Two of the final race, Delemo had taken the lead over Crouse. By Lap Four, it was obvious that Delemo was not the only threat to win the race, with the top-four drivers all bumper-to-bumper. Although Crouse tried nearly every move in the book, Delemo held on to capture the win, followed by Crouse in second and a great drive by Bree Miller to finish third. Following post-race tech inspection, Delemo was disqualified, giving Crouse the win, Miller second and Tyler Wettengel third.


Yamaha Junior Division:
Throughout the first four laps of the final, Emory Lyda and Taylor Stanford raced hard into nearly every turn and swapped for the lead nearly every lap. It wasn’t until Lap Five that Lyda was able to break away from Stanford and improve his lead to just over a second. When the checkered flag flew, it was Lyda with the win by nearly three seconds over second place of Stanford and Chase Carey in third. 

Yamaha Senior Division:
As the sole competitor in the Yamaha Senior Division, Keith Carlson, took the win in the Yamaha Senior final.


IAME Swift Division Sponsored by HMS Motorsport:
In what always promises to be one of the most exciting races of the day, the 16 IAME Swift competitors didn’t disappoint in their 14-lap final. It was Aiden Baker Crouse who led the top group of eight drivers all nearly nose-to-tail. One wrong move could make trouble for everyone in the train of karts. By halfway, the top-four drivers of Crouse, Devin Gomez, William Robusto and Connor Zilisch checked away from the field. Gomez overtook Crouse for the top position and the two drivers broke away from the rest of the field creating a two-kart race for the win. Gomez scored the victory, followed by Crouse and Robusto.


IAME Heavy Division:
Nick Tucker dominated the first half of the race before a late-race challenge for the lead by Laurentiu Mardan. Mardan made his move to overtake Tucker exiting Turn Three. Mardan and Tucker’s battle, although brief, allowed Cristian Vomir to close onto their heels from the third position. With just two laps to go, Tucker fell to third when Vomir overtook him for the second position. When the white flag flew, Vomir and Tucker were side-by-side at the line. Tucker muscled out a second place finish, but it was Mardan who took the win and Vomir settled for third position.  


IAME Junior Division:
In the IAME Junior Division, Lance Fenderson shot out to an early lead. Brooke Nachtmann made short work of Drew Lindley, passing him for the second position and setting her sights on Fenderson’s bumper. However, Fenderson had proven his speed all afternoon, qualifying on the pole and winning the pre-final. Fenderson scored the win, followed by a close race between Nachtmann in second and Lindley in third. 


Briggs LO206 Senior Division:
A brief and light rain shower threw a wrench in the plans of the 19 Briggs LO206 competitors, forcing them to gamble between slick or rain Hoosier Racing Tires. The track was barely damp, but several of the frontrunners all switched to rain tires as the field went back to green flag racing. Billy Duff and Dan Koehler, both on slick tires, took control of the top-two positions early on in the race. On Lap Four, Koehler overtook Duff in Turn Four. However, at the halfway point, Duff began to hit his stride for the second half of the race. Duff locked onto the bumper of Koehler tracing his every move. Duff waited to make his move until the last lap, passing Koehler for the win in Turn Four. Koehler finished in second and Eddie Gliss in third.


IAME Senior Division:
In one of our largest fields of the day, the 19 IAME Senior division drivers took the green on a completely dry track for their 17-lap final. Dusty Davis led the field early, but Justin Neu knew he couldn’t wait to make a move and had the speed to overtake Davis on just Lap Two in Turn Four. Davis patiently tracked Neu for several laps, but was nearly forced to make a move with significant pressure from Austin Schulz and Blake Hunt biting at his heels. Davis overtook Neu in Turn One for the lead as Hunt made his way into third place. As laps winded down, the top-three karts were bumper-to-bumper at the line with two laps to go. However, contact into Turn One, quickly removed Neu and Hunt from the chase, allowing Davis to walk away with the win. Nick Losito and Austin Schulz rounded out the top three.


Kid Kart Division:
Jett Miller completed his perfect day with a final win after also winning both the pole in qualifying and the pre-final race. Damian Gutierrez finished in second and Connor Adkins in third.


Round 2 Results & Standings>>
GoPro Photo Gallery>>


The Karting Challenge Presented by Hoosier Racing Tire will return for Round 3 on Saturday, April 23. Spectator admission is just $5 and children under age five are free. Competitors can save $15 by pre-registering on MotorsportReg.com. For more information on the Karting Challenge club series, CLICK HERE>>