Race Recap: GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Round 5, May 26

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (May 26, 2018) – Round 5 of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge on Saturday marked the second half of the Memorial Day weekend race event. The day began with sunny skies, but quickly turned to a heavy downpour by Qualifying. Rains fell throughout the late afternoon, eventually causing the event to be delayed shortly due to thunderstorms. As the storms moved through, the sun went down, setting the stage for final racing under the lights for 149 competitors across 12 divisions. Round Five continued GoPro Motorplex’s 12-Round club championship series.

Congrats to all Round 5 winners: Brent Crews (Briggs LO206 Cadet), Alexander Searle (Briggs LO206 Junior), Alex Keadle (Briggs LO206 Senior), Doug Rink (Briggs LO206 Heavy), Donald Whorton II (IAME KA100 Junior), Scott Saunders (IAME KA100 Senior), Spencer Conrad (IAME Mini Swift), Brent Crews (IAME Swift), Hayden Jones (IAME Junior), Phil Arscott (IAME Senior), Logan Cozzie (IAME Heavy), David Newell (Kid Kart).

IAME Mini Swift Division Sponsored by K&N:
In the IAME Mini Swift final, Spencer Conrad and Miles Murray had checked out on the field, creating a two-kart battle for the lead. However, Murray spun from second, allowing Conrad to easily stroll away with the win, followed by Ayden Patty in second and Murray in third. 

IAME Swift Division Sponsored by IAME USA East:
In the IAME Swift Division, it was Alex Delemo III and Brent Crews out front, quickly gaining a three-second lead over the rest of the 14-kart field. Crews found his way around Delemo with seven laps to go. Delemo, not giving up easily, pushed Crews around the track as halfway was shown to the drivers. Delemo hit a large puddle exiting Turn 8, ruining his chances to steal back the lead from Crews. Crews strolled away with the win, followed by Gavan Boschele and Sam Corry. Following post-race tech inspections, Boschele was disqualified, giving second place to Corry and Sebastian Ng improved to third. 

IAME Junior Division Sponsored by Max Papis Inc.:
In the IAME Junior Division final, Hayden Jones rocketed off the starting line and had over a second lead by the time he entered Turn Four. Jones never looked back, scoring the win with a 15.873 margin of victory. Sutter Gabel and Gray Leadbetter rounded out the podium. 

IAME Senior Division Sponsored by CNC Performance Engineering:
In the IAME Senior final, Phil Arscott shot out to a huge lead over Dalton Dow in second and Ashley Rogero in third. However, Dow had no intentions of surrendering as he ran the fastest laps of the race. When Arscott washed up the track exiting Turn 8, Dow saw his chance and stole the lead away. Arscott answered back just three corners later to regain the lead in Turn 11. By halfway, Arscott had breathing room as Dow dropped a second behind him. Arscott earned the win, followed by Dow and Sebastian Rivest in third. 

IAME Heavy Division Sponsored by Stitch 98:
In the IAME Heavy Division final, drivers began to creep back into the dry line. Matthew Turner had the race wrapped up until two laps to go when Cozzie closed onto his bumper. On the final lap, Cozzie made his move, stealing the lead from Turner. Cozzie scored the win, followed by Turner and Shannon Lee.


Briggs LO206 Cadet Division Sponsored by Kart Carolina:
In the Briggs LO206 Cadet Division final, 16 young drivers took the green with MG rain tires bolted on as the track was still rain soaked for the first final of the night. James Overbeck, Sebastian Ng and Brent Crews showed their rain racing prowess, breaking away from the rest of the field. By halfway, Crews made his move around Overbeck for the lead by executing a difficult pass through a large puddle in Turn 8. Crews continued to show off his wet-track skills, increasing his lead to nearly a second over Overbeck. Crews went on to score the win, followed by Overbeck and Ng.


Briggs LO206 Junior Division Sponsored by MG Tires:
In the Briggs LO206 Junior division, Alexander Searle proved he has what it takes to win, no matter if it’s on a wet or dry track. After winning last night’s Final, Searle proved he was still the driver to beat in tonight’s wet track conditions. Searle scored the win by over eight seconds on Connor Yonchuk in second and Ian Habiuk in third.

Briggs LO206 Senior Division Sponsored by Franklin Signs & Graphics:
In the Briggs LO206 Senior division, Alex Keadle and Zachary Linsell were side-by-side battling for the lead as they crossed the line to complete the opening lap. By just lap two, it was now a four-kart battle for the lead with Keadle out front. Keadle took advantage of the hard racing behind him to check out to a two-second lead. By halfway, it was JT Swygert who was winning the race for second at the moment. As laps wound down, drivers settled into their positions. Keadle scored the win, followed by Swygert in second and Linsell in third. 

Briggs LO206 Heavy Division Sponsored by Race City Locksmiths:
In the Briggs LO206 Heavy Division, Doug Rink was on the point, but Tim Skinner trailed close behind.
With three laps to go, Rink got loose exiting Turn Six and Skinner was there to execute on his mistake. Skinner took the lead in Turn Seven. However, Rink wasn’t giving up there, continuing to clock the fastest laps of the race from the second position and directly on Skinner’s bumper. Coming to the white flag, Rink overtook Skinner in Turn 11 to regain the lead. Rink went on to score the win, followed by Skinner and Shawn Pulver.

IAME KA100 Junior Division Sponsored by KartSport North America:
In the KA100 Junior Division final, the 21-kart field of drivers took the green with Donald Whorton II on the pole. Whorton put on a clinic, establishing a nearly three-second lead over Connor Zilisch in second by just the third lap of the race. As Whorton checked out, the battle for second heated up behind him between Caleb Bacon and Zilisch. With two laps to go, Bacon worked hard to hold off a charging Zilisch. Whorton scored the win while Bacon held onto second and Zilisch finished in third.


IAME KA100 Senior Division Sponsored by Sunoco Race Fuels:
In the KA100 Senior Division, Nick Johnston wasted no time, stealing the lead from Scott Saunders on the opening lap with a power move exiting Turn 9. Saunders refused to let Johnston out of his sights and stole the top spot back the next lap. However, with five laps to go, Saunders spun from the lead on the backstretch after getting water on his tires in Turn Three, handing the lead back to Johnston. Impressively, Saunders righted himself and continued on to keep second place. On the final lap, Saunders had worked tirelessly to close back to Johnston’s bumper. Saunders stormed past Johnston entering Turn One to capture the lead, going on to win the race, followed by Johnston in second and Blake Hunt in third.

Kid Kart Division:
In the Kid Kart Division, David Newell showed his experience on a still slightly damp race track. Newell strolled to an easy victory by over 18 seconds on Christian Reiter and Kolton Sherwood.

Round 5 Results, Standings>>
GoPro Photo Gallery>>

Race Coverage: To watch the recording of today’s Karting Challenge Round 5 YouTube Live Stream, CLICK HERE>>

Up next is Round 6 of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge on June 9. For more information on the Karting Challenge club series, CLICK HERE>>