Race Recap: GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Round 3, April 15

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (April 15, 2017) – Picture perfect weather graced Round 3 of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge on Saturday as 110 competitors raced under sunny skies and 80-degree temperatures. Round Three continued GoPro Motorplex’s 12-Round club championship series.

Congrats to all Round 3 winners: Aiden Baker Crouse (Briggs LO206 Cadet), Jadyn Daniels (Briggs LO206 Junior), Daniel Koehler (Briggs LO206 Senior), Talan Drake (IAME KA100 Junior), Emory Lyda (IAME KA100 Senior), Caleb Gafrarar (IAME Mini Swift), Brent Crews (IAME Swift), Brooke Nachtmann (IAME Junior), Ashley Rogero (IAME Senior), Todd Shambo (IAME Heavy).

IAME Swift Division:
In the IAME Swift Division final event, it only took one lap for Brent Crews to maneuver his way into the lead. Crews was the top pick for the win after winning the pole in qualifying as well as winning the pre-final. However, second place driver, Mateo Rubio-Luengo, made it his mission to not let Crews’ lead improve more than a kart length. As halfway was signaled to the drivers, Rubio-Luengo had completely closed onto Crews’ bumper and the two continued to run nose-to-tail as laps wound down. Behind the leaders, the battle for third place had heated up between Ashton Chilton, Tyler Wettengel and Jacob Graham. In the final two laps, Rubio-Luengo stole the lead three times from Crews only to have Crews take the top spot back for good with a power-move exiting Turn Nine. Crews scored the win while Rubio-Luengo settled for second. Wettengel fought hard in the closing laps to earn the third spot on the podium.

IAME Heavy Division:
In the IAME Heavy Division 14-lap final, Todd Shambo finished his perfect day with a dominating win. Rounding out the podium in second and third were Shannon Lee and Christopher Hamilton, respectively. 

IAME Junior Division:
In the IAME Junior Division 14-lap final, Pauly Massimino shot out to the early lead. However, Brooke Nachtmann was wasting no time reeling Massimino in, trimming his lead down to just one kart length. As Nachtmann set her sights on Massimino, it was Tyler Maxson who was doing the passing, overtaking Nachtmann for second. Once Nachtmann knew he was there, she slammed the door back on Maxson to take back second. Nachtmann overtook Massimino in Turn Four and slowed his momentum, allowing her to pull away with the largest lead of the race. Nachtmann entered the final lap with no pressure at all, strolling away with the win. Making heavy contact and spinning just after the finish line, Pauly Massimino finished second and Cade Downes in third despite the two drivers making contact. 

Briggs LO206 Senior Division:
A huge field of 24 entries took the green flag for the division’s 13-lap final. Alex Keadle led the way, followed by Billy Duff and Eric Jones as a tight, three-kart lead pack. After just five laps of patient racing, the action heated up at the top of the field with a lead change as Jones took the top spot. At the halfway point, an impressive six-kart, nose-to-tail pack formed at the front of the field. Dan Koehler now showed the way, but the shuffling for position behind him continued with Jones improving to second and Duff to third. With the white flag in the air, Koehler went nearly unchallenged on the final lap to score the win, followed by Jones and Keadle. 

IAME Senior Division:
A total of 16 drivers took the green for the IAME Senior 17-lap final. Blake Hunt wasted no time, making his move into the lead right off the bat in Turn Four of the opening lap. Ashley Rogero was also quick to look for the lead, passing Hunt in Turn One of lap two. Hunt fell back into third as Luke Selliken used aggressive braking in the Hairpin to complete a pass for second. By halfway, Rogero was on a roll, improving her lead to just under a second over Hunt who was able to improve to second over Selliken. Rogero took the victory, followed by Hunt and Selliken.

IAME Mini Swift Division:
In the IAME Mini Swift 11-lap final, Adam Brickley was the driver to beat after winning the pre-final and taking the early lead in the final with a large gap back to second place of Sofia D’Arrigo. However, with just five laps remaining, Danny Dyszelski overtook D’Arrigo and immediately set his sights on Brickley. Dyszelski closed onto Brickley’s bumper. Running down the top-two, Caleb Gafrarar was clocking the fastest lap times of the race from the third position. In one of the best finishes of the day, Gafrarar pulled a rabbit out of the hat to sneak by for the win after Brickley and Dyszelski made contact in the final turn. The three drivers were three-wide at the line, but it was Gafrarar who had the momentum to score the win. Brickley settled for second and Dyszelski finished third. 

Briggs LO206 Junior Division:
In the Briggs LO206 Junior division, Jadyn Daniels completed her perfect day with a final win after winning the pole in qualifying and the pre-final.

Briggs LO206 Cadet Division:
In the Briggs LO206 Cadet Division 11-lap final, 17 young drivers took the green flag with Aiden Baker Crouse at the point of the three-kart pack of leaders that also included Bree Miller and Spencer Conrad. Crouse continued to lead, but with Miller tight to his rear bumper. As the white flag flew, Miller passed for the lead entering Turn Four, seeing the spotlight for the first time all race. However, Crouse battled back with a pass into Turn Eight and held on through the final corners to take the win. Miller earned second, followed by Conrad in third. 

IAME KA100 Junior Division:
In the KA100 Junior Division 13-lap final, Talan Drake continued his dominating day with the final win, followed by Emil Schulz in second and Westin Workman in third.

IAME KA100 Senior Division:
In the KA100 Senior Division, Emory Lyda strolled away with the early lead over Connor Tebbe and Ashlyn Breuer. With just three laps remaining, Tebbe slowly reeled in Lyda’s half-second lead. However, Lyda was flawless throughout the closing laps to never give Tebbe the chance to challenge for the win. Lyda took the vicotry, followed by Tebbe in second and Breuer in third.

Round 3 Results, Standings>>
GoPro Photo Gallery>>


Up next is a double-header weekend with Round 4 and 5 of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge with exciting night racing, May 26 and 27.

For more information on the Karting Challenge club series, CLICK HERE>>